Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-26-2015, 09:45 AM   #1

2005 E-450 "Party Bus" Conversion Questions (In VA)

Long time lurker, first time poster. I have gotten great ideas and help from the community here so far, I really appreciate all of the knowledge.

This is my first time taking on something like this, so I apologize if I ask dumb questions.

I recently picked up a 2005 E-450 former School Bus, with about 65K miles on it. The overall goal is to turn it into a "Party Bus" of sorts for me and my friends to travel the in before my upcoming military deployment.

I have a few questions that I have not been able to find answers to, and was hoping I could get some help.

I live in Virginia, and have not been able to get a clear answer on what it takes to get my bus registered and street legal. So far I have followed the advice I have been given, and put a paint job on it, and removed everything that identifies it as a school bus (stop sign, changed light colors, took of school bus signs, etc.)

The DMV still won't give me a straight answer on what I need to do for it to be properly VA inspected and registered. Has anyone here done a conversion in VA, and know the laws on how to get it registered?

Also, i'd like to ensure that it keeps running for a long time, any tips on what I can do to "bullet-proof" it? Looking into getting a H/O Alternator to start, and replacing the starting batteries, then probably some engine work. Anything else performance wise I should think about?

Sorry for the long-winded post, and thanks in advance for any assistance!

DFxSteel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2015, 11:32 AM   #2
Bus Crazy

I am not sure exactly what you are asking in regards to license and title issues.