Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-23-2015, 03:12 PM   #1

88 bluebird 'unnamed'

(Questions at the bottom of the post)

So about 5 days ago I finally went for it and bought a 1988 Bluebird Chevy short bus to convert into a tiny home. Been planning a tiny home for about 7 years now but I'm a complete newbie when it comes to actually building... but I'm excited nonetheless! I graduated college about a year ago so it's probably the perfect time to get this project going and learn some new skills.

So she looks like a piece of junk (the previous owner covered her in spray paint of all things...) but the engine looks great and after she gets an oil change and a couple parts worked on, she'll be good as new!

The first day, the boyfriend and I cleared out all the stuff the previous owner had put into the bus. The inside had 'bunks' the last owner used for tailgating but all of them were made from really low quality wood and weren't bolted down (luckily), so we salvaged what we could and dumped the rest.

Before and After

We also tore out the only metal seat left in the bus
(photo below is showing the boyfriend wrenching out the top screws while I'm under the bus wrenching out the lower bolts)

Day 2-3

We started digging out rivets. I couldn't find a power tool so we've been hitting them with a metal wedge and hammer to cut them in half and digging them out of the wall. It's pretty labor intensive, but we got the technique down so its going by faster than expected. Should have a power tool soon to get the other wall done more easily. Also started digging up the linoleum to expose the plywood.

Day 4