Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-22-2016, 02:39 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Budgetting short bus conversion

Hello, I'm new to the forum, so apologies if this isn't the right place to post this question. I am a recent graduate from a college of hypnotherapy, and have a dream of outfitting a short school bus to be my mobile hypnotherapy office. (Who doesn't want to get hypnotized on a rad bus?) I'm toying with the idea of making a Kickstarter campaign for it, but am not quite sure of what my goal should be. I've been scouring the web and forums to get a handle on it, but can't seem to find what I need, so I'm hoping that some of you fine veterans can help me get a clearer picture. I've been obsessively looking for buses on craigslists all over the country, so I have an idea of what I might pay for the actual unconverted bus, but the cost of the conversion is eluding me.

Here's what I have in mind:

Basic
-removing seats
-reinsulating
-flooring (curious about options there...what is best for avoiding water damage and making future modifications easy?)
-basic electric; enough to charge ipad, laptop, and basic cooling and heating appliances (portable fine)
-solar panels to support electricity
-anchoring furniture
-equipment that makes internet easily accessible (many appointments would be via skype and facetime)

Ambitious bonuses
-modifying doors to fit a "real" door, such as a nice wood one
-potentially modifying some windows to be swing out, replacing side door with stained glass
-possible back porch
-wood or other accents to make it more stylized and to camouflage elements like solar panels