Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-09-2021, 04:50 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1993
Chassis: E350 7 window
Engine: 7.3 idi na
Rated Cap: 16
Bus into toy hauler?

Have acquired what I believe is a 16 passenger E350 bus. Hard to tell exact as the rear was designed for multiple wheel chairs.

Anyway, my plan/hope is to leave the front with enough seating for myself and the kids, and the rear a flatbed for toys.

I'm a mechanic by trade, but my weakness is definitely fabrication.

I hope to find an extended E cutaway cab and make the back.

I don't know if I can just chop the existing bus body and move the rear cap forward.

IDIaddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2021, 05:06 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1999
anything is possible. the deck on a bus is fairly high off the ground, requiring pretty long ramps, depending on how low the car is. A low race car will need very long ramps, a jeep not so much.

Would make more sense to me to have a car trailer, perhaps you can change the bus into a fifth wheel by cutting off the rear area to put in a hitch over the rear wheels to use a gooseneck or fifth wheel trailer. Isn't a e350 single rear wheel? doesn't have quite the weight capacity, but plenty as a fifth wheel tower.
BeNimble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2021, 05:36 PM   #3
Mini-Skoolie

It's a dually, but being rwd, it's pretty low. I have found sloped car trailers that I would copy.

I would be putting on a polaris or a tracker to be bringing to off road places. Here in NJ all of the land is paved so have to travel to do any trail driving

First is getting it running and off my car trailer haha. Starter sparked a lot at the original location, lots of loose connections within starter itself. But the end of the starter cable also rotted off.