Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-18-2021, 01:03 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Creating a slide out deck?

Hi guys.

As much as I so badly want a rooftop deck, I know my fiberglass shell is not strong or safe enough to support it. Would I be crazy in thinking that I could make a deck that slides out and hangs out of my side rear handicap exit? It’s a pretty wide exit, double doors. I’m not sure exactly how to ensure the deck can support the weight of 2 adults. I was thinking of possibly adding 2 hooks inside and attaching chains to the deck when pulled out to help hold it in place. Anyone have any ideas on how I can accomplish this? Maybe attaching something to the bottom when out to hold the weight? I have little experience, so in depth explanations would be amazing. Thanks in advance

Piper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2021, 08:47 AM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1997
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International
Engine: T444E
Rated Cap: 32 Passenger
First off howdy neighbor. Welcome to “The Crazies”. I really don’t have any suggestions to create a slide out. I can’t imagine the amount of work it will take to make it happen for such a small amount of space. How about a foldout down deck on the back? One thing for sure, if you have the skills or the money,(sometimes it takes both), you can make it happen !! Once again, welcome aboard !!
Phatman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2021, 09:19 AM   #3
Bus Geek

Year: 2003
Coachwork: International
Chassis: CE 300
Engine: DT466e
Rated Cap: 65C-43A