Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-17-2020, 07:32 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 2003
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Ford e450
Engine: 7.3 powerstroke
Rated Cap: 20
Question deciding between 2005 Thomas and 2006 Collins

I've been recommended a mechanic who will help me evaluate both buses next weekend. I've been googling and just want to make sure I'm not missing any common issues and will be able to make the best decision.

some background:
After years of wanting to do a conversion project I'm finally ready to pull the trigger and be able to roadtrip with my dog in style. With the current covid situation I don't want to wait any longer, and since I won't be traveling anytime soon this summer seems like the right time to start working on a lot of those tedious early tasks. I work in healthcare so I'm very fortunate that I haven't been out of work and will be able to buy necessary supplies.

I am fairly limited in my choices since I live in rural, coastal Alaska. I had debated a lot about whether or not I wanted to spend (a lot) more money finding and transporting one from the mainland or lower 48. One from mainland Alaska will probably actually have more rust problems (these look fairly decent underneath) and would be more expensive. Importing one from outside Alaska is going to be a big pain, expensive, and come with no guarantees. So after asking around there are 2 very similar buses here for sale that seem like good prospects.

They are both 5 window Ford e450s (I know this engine is a stinker but it's what I've got to work with). I really like the size for being easier to drive, maneuver, park, etc and that they don't require a CDL.
Both were retired from the local school system relatively recently.