Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-09-2016, 12:44 PM   #1

Year: 1998
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: GMC Savana 3500
Engine: 5.7
Heater Removal & Electrical Question

Hey everyone! I am a newbie to the world of skoolies! I am convertin a '98 Bluebird to a camper/home. I am feeling a lot of heat from the HurriHot and want to remove it safely & correctly. Do we just need to clamp the hoses or is there some other way to remove the hoses completely?

The air conditioning switch is also smoking and about to burn up....any suggestions or help about the wiring is much appreciated!

Also - we are having a lot of issues with our starter & battery. The bluebird body is on a 98 GMC savanna 3500 van chasse. Anyone have lots of issues with this?

Uptoknowgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 01:38 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1997
Coachwork: Startrans
Chassis: Ford e-350 single wheel
Engine: 5.4 litre
Rated Cap: 12
My bus has a valve along the frame to stop the hot engine coolant from cycling through the heater.
leadsled01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 03:42 PM   #3
Bus Nut

Year: 2000
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: T444E
Rated Cap: Your mom +1
yeah, there should be a couple of what look like a garden hose valves under the hood. On mine, they are on the passenger side of the engine. you can shut them off to stop the heat, but If you're only removing the rear heater like I did you will have to get a u-bend and connect the inlet hose going to the heater to the outlet hose from the heater. It's basically just a big coolant loop. If you just cap the hoses off the coolant can't return to the engine and you will run into problems. I would, however reccomend shutting both valves before you unhook your hoses from the heater to minimize the loss of coolant, and make sure you have a bucket ready to catch what comes out of the hoses if you shorten them.