Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-08-2021, 03:53 PM   #1

heating?

Hi! So I'm new to the skoolie life and I have a question for all you more experienced people. It is getting cold on the east cost and I need heat. My electrics will not handle an electric space heater... so I was thinking propane but, I don't know much about propane heaters outside of salamanders (which are as quiet as a jet engine and will kill you if you run them inside)... I was hoping one of you could recommend a propane heater that is safe (and quiet enough) to run inside a 14' skoolie?

Thanks much!

Luca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2021, 04:23 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1990
Chassis: Crown Supercoach
Engine: Detroit 6-71TA, 10 sp.
Rated Cap: 90 (40')
If you're definitely sticking with propane, then look into Propex heaters. They're a bit pricey, but supposedly worth it (I have no personal experience).

If you have a diesel bus (or even if you don't), diesel heaters are pretty dang nice. The Chinese knockoff versions are cheap and generally work very well. Google "Chinese diesel heater" for more info than you can handle. "John McK" has an excellent YouTube series that will make anybody an expert.

Edit: both options above are reasonably quiet and both use outside air for combustion and exhaust, so they're safer than the salamander (or Buddy) heater you mentioned.
Tejon7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2021, 08:23 AM   #3
Almost There

Year: 2009
Coachwork: GMC
Chassis: 3500
Engine: 6.6 Duramax
I just installed a chinese district heater, the first one was junk from "Happy Buy" at Amazon. The second was from ebay and it works like a champ.
Hiyu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2021, 10:24 AM   #4
Bus Nut

Year: 1995
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DT466 / MD3060