Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-22-2019, 09:47 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1996
Engine: DT466E Diesel
Hey Everybody! We bought a bus!

Hello everyone!

I have been off and on this page for a while and have read through a bunch of threads about buying and building a bus and only a couple months ago did my girlfriend and I finally pull the trigger after months of wanting to buy a bus (actually more like years) but here we are. We bought a 1997 444e Thomas DIESEL school bus and now we are in the beginning stages of the conversion. We are currently out of Minnesota and hopefully we can get it about 50 % concerted before this winter comes so we can get out of dodge. But here’s some pictures. Everyone loves Pictures!

I’ll be posting some more pictures and keeping you guys updated as things as I go along. This is my first build so I’m sure I’ll ask a bunch of questions for advice and opinions.
Attached Thumbnails
0B2BD694-EAD6-48AB-8303-AA4BB0C08498.jpeg   D2A4C5D2-6A3F-4E14-941F-BBEA5AD976C7.jpeg   2439B771-216A-4AE0-B106-4A6878C9C44E.jpeg  

BabztheBus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 09:50 PM   #2
Mini-Skoolie

So flash forward a few months and driving the bus and parking it at various places (apparently people don’t like a huge sketchy school bus across the street) we finally have it at my parents for the remainder of the conversion. Went ahead and pulled the flooring...which was absolutely terrible and had to take a lot of wall panels. I know some people leave the ceiling but the way our panels were laid out it was like a puzzle. You had to take a few out to get the bigger pieces so here’s the flooring from beginning through the tear up, de rust, and floor prep.
Old 08-22-2019, 09:55 PM   #3
Mini-Skoolie

Here’s the pictures guys. Doing this from my mobile while I’m at work dreaming about my bus that’s 2 hours away!
Attached Thumbnails