Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-12-2021, 05:05 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Is short better?

I'm considering what type of bus to purchase. I love the shorties. But I've heard some negative feedback from folks. Is it true that the engines are not as good for long-distance, and that they have trouble climbing hills? I'm hoping to be able to do a few road trips. But I LOVE the idea of being able to fit my bus in my driveway! Thanks for your patience and advice! I have no experience yet, but you gotta start somewhere, right?

Ravenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2021, 05:14 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1999
Coachwork: BlueBird
Chassis: TC1000 HandyBus
Engine: 5.9L 24V-L6 Cummins ISB
Rated Cap: 26 foot
None of that is true, except for maybe a specific engine. I don't know of any, myself. If anything, the bigger buses can have trouble with the hills.

It really all depends on the bus itself, the motor, and the transmission in it.

If you like the shorties, investigate the different ones more. Many people don't like diesels from the early 2000s because of ERG problems. But there are update kits that fix the problems for not too much $$$. This may not be a deal killer if you find a good price on one of these buses.

Mine is 26 foot long, and it fits in my driveway. The HOA doesn't like it, but they won't like a van cutout bus either.
Mountain Gnome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2021, 05:33 PM   #3
Skoolie

Coachwork: MidBus
Chassis: Chevy Express 3500
Engine: 6.5L Turbo Diesel
Rated Cap: 19
My shortie, with an "underpowered" 6.5L turbo diesel, which is still not quite 100% running right... had no problems whatsoever climbing a fairly steep hill the other day.

So yeah, all depends on the specific engine and transmission...