Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-25-2017, 08:28 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1995
Chassis: International 3600
Engine: T444E
Junebus

This is the Junebus. It's named after my granny, June, who has kindly allowed me to stay with her while I convert the bus in her driveway. I am a recent college graduate, and have had some ideas of building a bus since highschool.

It's a 1995 Thomas Vista short bus with a handicap door (no lift), built on a International 3600 chassis with a T444E. Bought it from the owner of bed and breakfast in Minnesota who had used it to transport guests to some hunting land. He had bought it from a group of sheriff deputies that had used it to tow snowmobiles out to Yellowstone once a year. A previous partial conversion was done by the sheriffs as well. They painted it, had a towing hitch installed, sprayfoamed the undercarriage, removed all the the seats, replaced them with conversion van chairs and had an AC inverter connected to the starter batteries for 120V power. It's a Minnesota bus, so there's some extensive body rust which you can see in the pictures.

My somewhat chronological plan is to gut the bus and repair the major body rust. Convert it to run on waste vegetable oil, with an on-board filtering assembly. Build a rooftop deck and mounting rack for solar panels. Install a 350W, 450Ah solar system. Install a Four-dogs wood stove for heat. Insulate everything and install t&g oak wood flooring. Build a composting toilet. Build a kitchenette with sink, 120V fridge and small 3 burner propane stove and oven. Build the bed storage areas.

I'll be using Imgur for most of my images. The username is Junebus, found at https://junebus.imgur.com.

simonsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 08:32 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap