Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-27-2015, 11:34 AM   #21
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1992
Coachwork: Champion
Chassis: Ford E-350
Quote:
Originally Posted by fnelson71 View Post
m00py

check out roach motel a lot of good info in his post
Roach's bus is a HUGE inspiration, in fact I just went through nearly every picture he had up last night. One major difference between our coaches however is that his walls are straight while mine are curved - a huge structural detail that may give me problems later on (e.g. my windows are curved because of that and if I want to replace them - which I do - I need to figure out how I'm going to do that). I have no experience with carpentry or car work so I'm starting from scratch. Thankfully I have friends 'round these parts that have experience in these fields and are willing to help me figure things out and work on this with me.

EDIT: Actually after just looking at some of the interior I see that the curve is actually very slight and I think that windows can actually just give a little to a bend like that, depending on what they're made of I imagine. Can anyone confirm this for me that has had experience with installing windows on a curved body? My first thought was that they were calculated to fit the bend and installed that way. I hope I'm wrong about that.

m00py is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2015, 07:16 PM   #22
Bus Crazy

Year: 1996
Chassis: Ford e-450
Engine: 7.3 Powerstroke
Rated Cap: 14
The windows in it ARE curved-I had one out. To remove just undo the screws on the inside trim piece + pry away the sealer on the outside. The bus sides do have some flex-but I doubt its enough to just bolt flat windows in there.

my bus build https://www.skoolie.net/gallery/Skoolies/Sped
sdwarf36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2015, 07:21 PM   #23
Bus Geek

Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: TC2000 FE
Engine: 190hp 5.9 Cummins