Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-29-2019, 02:54 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 2002
Coachwork: Thomas
Engine: Caterpillar 3126
Rated Cap: 16
Newbie needs a bus! Please Help!

Hey yall,

I'm a newbie to the skoolie.net community and I am feeling very overwhelmed. My nephew (currently 15) and I are planning to take a trip around the U.S. and Canada for a couple of months when he graduates....thankfully, that's still 3 years away, but I'm a planner and I like to be prepared.

We need:
  • a short bus (due to parking space constraints)
  • something with a good amount of head room (my nephew is already 6'3 and still growing)
  • enough space for a toilet and shower
  • enough space to sleep 2 on a regular basis (bunkbeds?) and 4 for short periods of time (some type of fold out couch?)

Does anyone know of a model we should be looking for? Should we go for a short school bus or a shuttle bus? My nephew and brother are planning on converting the bus to electric, while I'm in charge of the inside.

Any and all help would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers,
KatTravels

KatTravels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2019, 03:24 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 2007
Coachwork: Thomas Built
Chassis: Minotour
Engine: Chevy Express 3500 6.6l
The height is going to be an issue if you are looking for a school bus. You may want to look for a limo bus or a shuttle bus. I’m pretty sure Turtle Top and Krystal Koach have bodies that have a higher ceiling.
Danjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2019, 03:26 PM   #3
Skoolie

Quote:
Originally Posted by KatTravels View Post
My nephew and brother are planning on converting the bus to electric