Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-03-2019, 06:25 AM   #1
Skoolie

Year: 2004
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Saf-T-Liner
Engine: MBE 906 Mercedes Benz Diesel
Question Newbie questions

I'll try to keep this brief, and not be annoying. I just began researching bus conversions this week as I'm quite serious about relocating back to the US in April 2020. I'm drawn to the shorter school buses for two reasons. 1. I'm a single guy living alone, so I don't need much space and 2. I think it would be MUCH easier to drive a 18 - 22 passenger bus around (both short and long trips) than a 72 passenger, or city bus.

For now, Just one basic questions, and again, apologies if this is annoying or redundant. I'm not a mechanic, or a bus aficionado, and I just want to know if there are certain manufacturers, or drive trains, or configurations that I should absolutely avoid when shopping for a bus. Also, if there are any profound changes at certain times that would make, say, a 90's bus much less desirable than an early 2000's bus.

Thanks in advance for any consideration. If this is in some way an inappropriate question, I apologize in advance, and please direct me to any preferable forum topic, or even other site.

Jon

'

Beachvbguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 06:46 AM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 2003
Chassis: Chevy cut-away 6-window shortie
Engine: 6.0L Gasser
There are a number of threads about the issues with diesel vehicles from 2004 and newer. I'd suggest staying away from them unless you know what you're getting into. 2003 and older diesels don't have all the new emissions garbage. For gas engines, this doesn't apply.