Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-03-2020, 12:17 AM   #1

'Nother newbie here, how about this bus??

Hi All!
I'm just beginning my road life adventure and have decided upon the short bus for my conversion project. I found just the kind I am looking for. It's a 2002 Chevrolet express G3500 with 19,700 miles on it. It's gutted so just the driver's seat and one passenger bench inside. The seller is asking $9,000 here in California. Does that sound at all like a reasonable price?

Only other info I have on it so far:
5.7 V8 motor
Chevrolet SRW 3500 chassis
10,000lbs G.V.W.R
8FT clearance
Americus Commercial L/T tires and Chevrolet 16 inch wheels

It's in Northern CA and I'm in Southern CA so it's a trek to go check it out. Any questions I should ask beforehand?
Thanks in advance!

Ojaitrucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2020, 12:32 AM   #2
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 2001
Coachwork: International
Chassis: International
Engine: t444e/7.3liter diesel.
Rated Cap: 18000 GVWR
The 5.7 is a good engine for gasoline but I much prefer a diesel. I like that size bus... That is pretty expensive for an 18-19-year-old bus. The low low miles is a plus. I'll have less than that in mine fully converted including the cost of the bus (but I was lucky too).
tradertim54@gmail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2020, 03:27 AM   #3
Traveling

Year: None
Coachwork: None
Chassis: None
Engine: None
Rated Cap: None
Bear with me, this is a long post, but worth the read. First and foremost, $9,000 is entirely too much money. The 5.7L is a great engine, but has its limitations and is a bit small to be in a 1-ton (1500 is 1/2-ton, 2500 is 3/4-ton, 3500 is 1-ton), meaning it worked harder than a 7.4L or 8.1L would have. Be careful. Check this unit out carefully. Dirty oil, oil smells like fuel, trans fluid smells burned or smells like coolant, engine blowby, walk away.