Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-05-2019, 11:52 AM   #41
Bus Crazy

Year: 1999
Coachwork: BlueBird
Chassis: TC1000 HandyBus
Engine: 5.9L 24V-L6 Cummins ISB
Rated Cap: 26 foot
When the speed limit was 55, going slow wasn't so bad.
When the speed limit is 65, and people are doing 75-80 (as they do) a slow vehicle creates a hazard as people start to pass. Sure YOU are safe in your bus, but THEY are the hazard.
I was pulled over in S.Carolina once for doing 65MPH in a 65MPH zone. The traffic was doing 75 around me, but a cop pulled onto the highway directly behind me, and I respected the law. He thought I was a drunk driver (I was sober and he let me go with little contact - it was an illegal stop!). I told him in total shock, laughing "I was just trying to obey the law as you followed behind me at 1 car length for 20 miles..." My bet it was my bumper sticker he didn't like. He was a good-ol-boy kinda...

And yes, I was causing a bottleneck and hazard at rush hour on a busy two-lane interstate.

Mountain Gnome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2019, 12:07 PM   #42
Bus Crazy

Year: 1975
Coachwork: Chevy
Chassis: 8 window
Engine: 454 LS7
Rated Cap: 24,500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mountain Gnome View Post
When the speed limit is 65, and people are doing 75-80 (as they do) a slow vehicle creates a hazard as people start to pass. Sure YOU are safe in your bus, but THEY are the hazard.