Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-08-2024, 09:45 PM   #1

Question of bus value? (tell me not to buy this!!)

Hi.

I am new to Skoolie.net and I am about to buy my first bus. I just want to hear that I am not totally crazy. The bus is a 1999 Ford E450 with the 7.3L turbo diesel with 77,000 miles. It has been well maintained, as it was a fleet vehicle. Tires don't match, but all have good tread. No big rust spots that I found with a look under the frame. Engine starts and does not smoke, and runs smoothly. I drive "like a bus" -- but no weird engine noises or shakes in the suspension. I do not think it would win a drag race with a moped, but hey its a bus. Owner claims it gets 14MPG (Diesel). Brakes work, but again, I would bot pull in front of this thing and slam on the brakes if I were you.

The previous owner of the bus has gutted it and re-modeled it with 2 beds, and some nice cabinetry. Gas stove, sink, 50 gal fresh 50 gal grey tanks, propane instant hot water heater, and a shower. 2 TV's (big whoop) Roof rack over 3/4 of bus, ladder, and rear "bike basket". He seemed to be quite skilled at this type of work, as he owns a civil engineering company and had his workers build the bus. It is re painted green, and its quite a looker. The transmission is not shifting into over drive, but the fluid is clean and i very much suspect that it is an electrical wiring issue, which automotive electronics / mechanics is one of my specialties (I am an electrical / mechanical engineer).

I plan to fix the electrical issues, add 800 watts of solar, remove the rear A/C, put in a mini-split where the rear ac was. Possibly improve the potty.

I have the chance to pick it up for $12K.

Thoughts on this bus?
Attached Thumbnails