Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-30-2020, 01:21 AM   #1

Short Bus & engine/gearbox replacements

Hi - as a total newbie, I'm starting out on my search for the right skoolie to convert. The mpg attained by some is a big frightener for us in UK. We have diesel at around £1.20 a litre, so that's approx US$5.90 for a US gallon. I think your average is US$2.43 a US gallon, so we're over double that.

With that in mind, I'll probably be looking for one of the shorter 'mid sized' skoolies to give me 20 to 25 feet of living space to play with. These seem to come with DT466 diesel engines which, although robust, drink fuel....

So, this takes me to my big question: has anyone changed out the original engine/gearbox to something more economical? Key factors are that this would need comparable engine BHP and torque. I've looked at Ford F150 powertrain options as a starter:

Ford F-150 Engines:

3.3-Liter Ti-VCT V-6: 290 hp, 265 lb-ft
2.7-Liter EcoBoost V-6: 325 hp, 400 lb-ft
3.5-Liter EcoBoost V-6: 375 hp, 470 lb-ft
High-Output 3.5-Liter EcoBoost V-6: 450 hp, 510 lb-ft
3.0-Liter Power Stroke Turbo Diesel V-6: 250 hp, 440 lb-ft
5.0-Liter Ti-VCT V-8: 395 hp, 400 lb-ft

For us Brits and driving in mainland Europe, the diesel option is preferable, however it looks a little light at 250hp although torque seems good.

Look forward to any comments!

ImNotARobot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 01:53 AM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1999
The Sprinter vans with 3.0 turbo diesel get about 15mpg. Can't get much better than that.
BeNimble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 02:03 AM   #3
Bus Crazy

Year: 1954
Coachwork: wayne
Chassis: old f500- new 2005 f-450
Engine: cummins 12 valve
Rated Cap: 20? five rows of 4?
the other direction

I am going older mechanical injection diesel. I expect minimum 12-14 miles to the gallon... and I think I can get 18 MPG.