Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-12-2016, 09:56 PM   #1

Year: 1993
Coachwork: Grumman Olson Step Van
Chassis: GMC
Engine: Chevy 350 8-cylinder
Step Van Mobile Muralist Studio

Hi all! I'm working on a step van, and I've landed here as the closest place to 'my people' I can find. I've seen a couple others floating around here, notably the_inevitable's well-documented example which has helped me figure some things out already

Okay, so I'm 5 months into wrestling with this project, and I'd love to share and get some feedback. I've never done any vehicle work before at all, and have very minimal building experience. I'm a full-time muralist, and the goal is a mobile studio that I can work inside of to do design work, then take to a job site and work out of like a work truck to paint murals. My sights are set on 'simple' and 'functional'.

I've been detailing my whole process on my blog (see signature, or go to the first post about the step van itself), but I'll put the highlights up here.

20' long 1993 GMC Grumman Olsen P-35 Step-Van

• 4,000 lbs. empty
  • 253,000 original miles
  • 8-cylinder 350 engine (the second in it)
  • 20' from bumper to bumper, 11'2" ground to roof, 6'11" wide
  • 6'10" tall and wide on the inside, 12' cargo space
  • garage-style door and double rear wheels (boo)
  • radio, a/c, heat
  • 1 door (passenger side)
  • broken gas gauge
  • chipped front windshield, 1 cracked side mirror
  • brand new front tires
  • Needed work on the steering column, rear axle and brakes, and exhaust system in order to pass state inspection.