Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-29-2019, 06:12 PM   #1
Bus Nut

Year: 2008
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Saf-T-Liner HDX
Engine: CAT C7 300hp w/retarder
Rated Cap: 46 + 1 36,200 lbs
Lady Liberty: School Activity Bus Conversion

Lady Liberty was a school activity bus. She's got adult sized headroom, serious air conditioning, overhead storage, storage below deck, a bona fide commercial duty diesel engine in the back rated at 300 hp, six forward speeds geared for the highway, air ride suspension all around. I'm no expert in these matters, but I've been calling her a coach since I first slapped some stickers on her announcing that to the world just before I rolled off the seller's property. If I am seriously in error in this characterization I will welcome constructive criticism. Not saying that it will change my mind, but I'm always willing to hear from good people who have more experience or cognitive ability than I do.

wrenchtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2019, 11:47 PM   #2
Bus Nut

So first, out came the seats:

Still toying with the idea of saving a row of seats for passengers to sit up front just behind the driver. It takes up a lot of space that might be better used for something else.

And possibly creating a dinette.

Then I got to ripping out the floor to make way for insulation.