Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-27-2021, 02:16 PM   #1
Scared to Post

2005 GM C7500 CAT and Allison 3000RDS gear 6 unlocked

Hey group,

Mods, please move this post where you deem appropriate.

I'm a professional auto mechanic who generally doesn't work on medium duty but I often deal with very advanced wiring and drivability issues at my day job and found myself with a long term good client who needed assistance on his Truck, note this is not actually a school bus.

I'm posting in this forum because I used a lot of information from various posts in this forum to create a repair plan for this truck and as another poster said, this forum really has great info on some of the weird crap for modifying medium duty stuff. In addition to getting gear 6 unlocked on this truck I also was able to get an ECM CAT rerated for 350HP from another brand truck to work in this Chevy. If there is interest in what was needed to overcome and consequences you'll live with with the HP rerate I could build another post.

Information in this thread was helpful: https://www.skoolie.net/forums/f10/a...ial-21661.html

The truck in question: 2005 GM C7500 has a rear axle ratio of 6.17:1, my client purchased it sight unseen because it had around 25k miles on it, he was upgrading from a K3500 chassis with 600k miles on it that he daily pulls a 30k pound trailer with. He target the model year due to the overall lack of emissions equipment, he upgraded chassis size in hopes to add 8k payload to the truck, in addition to the trailer payload. The problem is once he had the truck he really could not sustain highway speeds above 55mph at a safe RPM.