Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-01-2018, 10:09 PM   #1
Almost There

Year: 2000
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: C1FE 2509
Engine: Cummins ISB 5.9L 24V ~ AT545
Rated Cap: Seats 5. Sleeps 4
Aux Air Regulator Valve dumping Air at 70psi

Hey everyone, I'm a newbie here. We have a 25' Bluebird transit style bus. It has air brakes, suspension and a kneeling feature.

The auxiliary air regulator valve tied to the kneeler starts dumping air once the front tank reaches exactly 70psi. I bought the rebuild kit(part #RN17Y) for the regulator valve but that didn't make any difference at all. The valve is rated for 20psi and is adjustable. I've tried different adjustments on the valve after installing the new o'rings, spring and diaphragm from the repair kit but it made no difference what so ever.

The bus starts, pressurizes the tanks up to 70psi, the hissing begins from the regulator valve, the compressor tries hard to outpace the air being dumped from the valve but only manages to climb about 0.5 psi per minute

Any tips from mechanics? I have a Hendrickson air system. The regulator valve I'm referring to can be found here:

OEM part# N15817A (What's currently installed)
Repair kit: Haldex part# RN17Y
Replacement part# KN31040

https://www.haldex.com/en/na/valves-...table/kn31040/

Bluthebus00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2018, 09:59 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1984
Chassis: International 1753
Engine: 6.9 International
Rated Cap: 65
You wouldn't happen to have the lines flipped? That will cause what you're describing to happen.

Don't just flip em and re-test though. Trace the lines running to it and make sure they are where they're supposed to be.
Booyah45828 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2018, 10:24 AM   #3
Almost There

Hey! Thanks for the reply! I definitely didn't flip the lines though. I took pictures and labeled all 4 lines before touching anything.