Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-17-2017, 10:27 AM   #1
Bus Nut

Best fuel economy...

I have been reading about this topic fromn a variety of sources and wanted to check my understanding. A bus gets the best gas mileage when the transmission and differential are geared to the engines most efficient rpm range; increasing the torque of an engine raises the most efficient rpm range; increasing horsepower increases top speed. (All of these statements should have the phrase "within reason" attached to them. Am i right?

pengyou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2017, 12:49 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 2001
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: IH
Engine: T444E
Rated Cap: 14
I drive a big truck for a living and while there's some truth to all the above factors, it's a lot more complicated than that.

It's true that keeping an engine within its optimum power band will help with economy, and adjusting gear ratios will help with that, it can only do so much. You have to factor in things like mechanical drag, brake drag (honestly, you shouldn't have any), tire rolling resistance, and perhaps the biggest factor, wind drag.

For our purposes, we can reduce mechanical drag by making sure we have the right oil viscosity, transmission fluid, grease in the driveshaft, the front & rear wheel bearing lubricant, and everything in order with the rear axle. Brake drag shouldn't even be a factor (I will assume for this discussion that the brakes are not dragging). Tire rolling resistance varies by tire brands and models, tire life and age, and the one thing we have the most control over, tire inflation (tire pressure).