Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-27-2020, 03:38 PM   #1

Year: 2001
Blue Smoke Help!

2000 international 7.3 Allison

oil change done 3K miles ago and oil and fuel filter also changed ...

ISSUE: All of a sudden after we filled up a pilot truck stop we are now getting blue smoke upon accelerating and when under load. emits blue smoke for approx 20 seconds then goes away. and only when engine is colder. no loss of coolant noticed - started out of the nowhere when we got to colder weather. (and right after we filled up)

overall feels sluggish (kind of sputtering slightly) when it’s releasing the blue smoke.

Can anyone help with what might be the problem?

😞

theresabusinouryard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2020, 07:42 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1999
Is it a turbo? they can leak oil. Will keep getting worse. note i am not an expert on diesel engines.
BeNimble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2020, 08:14 PM   #3
Traveling

Year: None
Coachwork: None
Chassis: None
Engine: None
Rated Cap: None
Quote:
Originally Posted by theresabusinouryard View Post
2000 international 7.3 Allison

ISSUE: All of a sudden after we filled up a pilot truck stop we are now getting blue smoke upon accelerating and when under load. emits blue smoke for approx 20 seconds then goes away. and only when engine is colder. no loss of coolant noticed - started out of the nowhere when we got to colder weather. (and right after we filled up) Overall feels sluggish (kind of sputtering slightly) when it’s releasing the blue smoke.

Can anyone help with what might be the problem?

��
Forgive the length of this post, lots of info and suggestions here.

Blue smoke indicates oil being burned. There is a remote chance your fuel was contaminated with oil, but piston / ring / turbo seal issues are much more likely.

To simplify - what different colors of smoke mean with a diesel --