Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-21-2021, 04:24 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 2006
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Front Engine
Engine: Cat C7
Rated Cap: 84
Condensation in battery compartment - typical?

Just had our bus delivered today (2006 40' FE Thomas). It drove 220 miles w/o issue en route.

Was very surprised when I opened up the battery compartment after the trip to find i) it was hotter than blazes and ii) had lots of condensation.

I am a verifiable noob when it comes to operating this sort of vehicle, so here come the dumb questions:

i) is this normal?
ii) if not, where should I start to troubleshoot?
iii) any other questions I should be asking?
Attached Images
File Type: png Battery Condensation.png (385.0 KB, 8 views)

tomrasdf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2021, 06:40 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1999
Chassis: Ford E450
Make sure that isn't battery acid! Was it raining during your drive, or did you go through puddles? Or is there something leaking from above?

What is hot? The battery, or the space?

Is your bus battery indicator showing normal or something else?

Do you have a voltage meter to check the state of charge (when bus is off) and charging voltage (when bus is running)?
Rucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2021, 07:12 PM   #3
Bus Nut

As Rucker indicates, looks like the batteries have been significantly overcharged, which causes them to get hot and outgas acidic fumes and explosive hydrogen gas.

The sense line in the alternator which tells when the batteries are charged may be faulty
BeNimble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2021, 08:41 PM   #4
Bus Geek

Year: 1935
Coachwork: Superior
Chassis: Chevy
Engine: 317 ci/tid / Isuzu
Get right on this! Batteries when over charged can blow up and make a big dangerous mess. Just ask any mid fifties VW owner (like me) who had one blow up under the back seat!
Jack
ol trunt is offline   Reply With Quote