Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-24-2020, 07:15 PM   #1
Bus Nut

Year: 1990
Chassis: Crown Supercoach
Engine: Detroit 6-71TA, 10 sp.
Rated Cap: 90 (40')
Crown general engine bay help!

I need some assistance with a couple issues in my engine bay. These are four things that basically aren't related to each other besides the fact that I could capture them all in one panoramic picture of my engine bay. As you’ll quickly see from my questions, I am a complete novice at this. Sorry in advance for the rookie questions and thanks in advance for sharing your knowledge!

My bus is a 1990 Crown with a Detroit 6-71T and an Eaton-Fuller Roadranger transmission.

Instead of trying to describe everything, I’ve taken a picture of my engine bay and drawn in the areas of concern. These pictures are from the driver’s side (or ‘top’ of the engine).
Click image for larger version

Name:	Engine_bay_annotated.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	171.5 KB
ID:	51304

A) You can’t really see what I’m referring to in the overview picture, but there’s a close-up from a different angle below. Basically, I’m suddenly not building up air pressure. The bus had a slow leak when I bought it, and I’d lose all pressure over ~24 hours. I know that the connection to my right air wiper has a pretty significant leak, so I figured fix that and then reassess. Unfortunately, I hadn’t gotten to that yet. The last time I started the bus to move it, there was a new problem: it doesn’t build up more than 30 PSI, so I can’t disengage the air brakes (nor would I want to with that little pressure).