Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2019, 08:42 AM   #21
Skoolie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: GTA
Posts: 159
Year: 2002
Coachwork: Thomas Built Buses
Chassis: FS-65
Engine: Cat 3126
Rated Cap: 66/44
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadillackid View Post
both sets of diagrams have 2 switches.. looks pretty standard and even shows what ECM pins they go to..

great find!!!


the first diragram shows a 70 pin body-builder connector.. one can hope the wires are stubbed off at the body builder connector... Nav-star has the same connector and has optional featires stubbed off..

-Christopher
On this diagram there's just one set resume switch, as well as a fast idle switch/rpm control which a lot of buses seem to have.
The dash usually looks like this, minus the CC switchesScreenshot_20190326-083834_Drive.jpegScreenshot_20190326-084150_Google.jpeg
Ab01ns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2019, 10:43 AM   #22
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 45
Year: 2003
Coachwork: Freighliner
Chassis: Fs-65
Engine: 5.9l cummins
Rated Cap: 36 passenger
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadillackid View Post
as for cruise control... the FS-65 is very similar to the FL60/70 chassis.. im thinking you look at an FL60/70 wiring diagram, poke the pins in the ECM and see if it just works.. it may already be enabled in the computer, just needs the buttons installed..
im pretty sure the 3126 was before the Multiplex system that the C7s got.. so its discreet switches for cruise..
-Christopher
My fs 65 came factory with cruise so it should be as simple as getting the switches and enableing it in the ecu I am thinkin. Mine is an 03 model.
Cjgoertzen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2019, 10:47 PM   #23
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,402
Year: 2002
Coachwork: Thomas Built Bus
Chassis: Freightliner FS65
Engine: Caterpillar 3126E Diesel
Rated Cap: 71 Passenger- 30,000 lbs.
I am also highly interested in learning how to enable cruise. We have a 2002 Freightlier FS65 with a CAT 3126 in it. I have a login for Thomas Online, CAT, and Daimler's website. I can get all sorts of diagrams and such but I need to know what they are called by the respective manufacturers. I suppose I'll start poking around the sites a bit and see what I can discover.
Native is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2019, 11:41 PM   #24
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,402
Year: 2002
Coachwork: Thomas Built Bus
Chassis: Freightliner FS65
Engine: Caterpillar 3126E Diesel
Rated Cap: 71 Passenger- 30,000 lbs.
So far, no luck. The Thomas site only shows what *MY* bus had on it when manufactured. The Freightliner site is not fully functional right now. I'll try again later.
Native is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2019, 07:24 AM   #25
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 12,621
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ab01ns View Post
On this diagram there's just one set resume switch, as well as a fast idle switch/rpm control which a lot of buses seem to have.
The dash usually looks like this, minus the CC switchesAttachment 31160Attachment 31161



theres 2 switches on that diagram.. there is set / resume then 2 lines below is a cruise on/off switch.. I dont have a program on this comouter to draw circles around but they are there..


whats missong are the notes.. I want to know what "Note A" is...
-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2019, 11:21 AM   #26
Mini-Skoolie
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Satellite Beach Fl
Posts: 16
Year: 2001
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Freightliner
Rated Cap: 65
I got a 2001 freighliner f65 3126 I think it is factory it’s nice i love it
Sdferrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2019, 05:04 PM   #27
Skoolie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: GTA
Posts: 159
Year: 2002
Coachwork: Thomas Built Buses
Chassis: FS-65
Engine: Cat 3126
Rated Cap: 66/44
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadillackid View Post
theres 2 switches on that diagram.. there is set / resume then 2 lines below is a cruise on/off switch.. I dont have a program on this comouter to draw circles around but they are there..


whats missong are the notes.. I want to know what "Note A" is...
-Christopher
I guess that set resume is for the CC and there's no rpm/idle control on this diagram. Can you not download the pdf? The note is visible on it.
Ab01ns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2019, 05:13 PM   #28
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 12,621
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
do the freightliners not use the set / resume switch for the high idle like the navistar does?


on navistar you turn cruise on in neutral and use the resume / accell button to run the idle up to where you want to keep it and it just holds till you hit the brakes
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2019, 05:19 PM   #29
Skoolie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: GTA
Posts: 159
Year: 2002
Coachwork: Thomas Built Buses
Chassis: FS-65
Engine: Cat 3126
Rated Cap: 66/44
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadillackid View Post
do the freightliners not use the set / resume switch for the high idle like the navistar does?


on navistar you turn cruise on in neutral and use the resume / accell button to run the idle up to where you want to keep it and it just holds till you hit the brakes
No, they have 4 separate switches, at least on the fs-65
Ab01ns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2019, 06:25 PM   #30
Bus Nut
 
Jolly Roger bus 223's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Swansboro,NC
Posts: 962
Year: 86
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Ford B700
Engine: 8.2
Rated Cap: 60 bodies
I know that most computer savvy people won't like this?
On my all mechanical bus with a heavy return spring on the throttle I use a broom stick cut to full throttle length from the steel base rail chair and a rope that runs up to my hand/wrist on the the steering wheel?
I can release cruise buy putting my foot on the throttle and it knocks the cruise off or I can pull it out of cruise with the rope around my wrist?
I think it was SOMEWHEREINTHE USA that adapted a cruise control servo to his bus but there is one other that I can't remember right now that might have shared that?
Jolly Roger bus 223 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2019, 08:07 PM   #31
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 12,621
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
I guess if I was running against the redline on my busses i would be able to use the stick method.. but I tend to build them so I no longer have to run against the redline.. .. the easiest place to mount a servo cruise is at the pedal itself on a mechanical or fly-by-wire diesel..
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2019, 01:07 AM   #32
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,402
Year: 2002
Coachwork: Thomas Built Bus
Chassis: Freightliner FS65
Engine: Caterpillar 3126E Diesel
Rated Cap: 71 Passenger- 30,000 lbs.
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadillackid View Post
theres 2 switches on that diagram.. there is set / resume then 2 lines below is a cruise on/off switch.. I dont have a program on this comouter to draw circles around but they are there..


whats missong are the notes.. I want to know what "Note A" is...
-Christopher
"Note A: This is an optional feature not installed on all vehicles."


It appears right below the color coding block on the second page.
Native is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2019, 01:12 AM   #33
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,402
Year: 2002
Coachwork: Thomas Built Bus
Chassis: Freightliner FS65
Engine: Caterpillar 3126E Diesel
Rated Cap: 71 Passenger- 30,000 lbs.
Today, I went to the local Freightliner dealer to ask about adding cruise control to my bus. They were basically clueless. If it was not originally on the vehicle, they can not look it up because they use the VIN (last 6 characters) to look up the information about that particular build. While there, I called the Freightlier Custom Chassis 24-hour Help Desk (in Gafney, SC @ 800-385-4357) and they were using the same website that can access. They did say that if I can get the last six characters of a vehicle that has cruise control from the factory, then it can be looked up in PartsPro.


Sdferrell, would you mind giving me the last six characters of your VIN?
Native is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2019, 07:42 AM   #34
Bus Geek
 
EastCoastCB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Eustis FLORIDA
Posts: 20,145
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Freighliner FS65
Engine: Cat 3126
Rated Cap: 15
Yeah someone find out!

Good work here gang!
__________________
.
Roll Your Own Build Thread
EastCoastCB is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2019, 08:38 AM   #35
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 12,621
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
great work.. and yeah everything seems to be by VIN.. navistar is the same way. I had to use different VINs to download different calibrations for my engine computers..



hopefully its also not too hard to get the ECM parameters enabled for cruise.. its easy and a customer-modifiable parameter in navistar.. im trying to learn and figure out what software and parameters are required to enable / disable features on CAT... there is some discussions about it on mhhauto (a somewhat-extreme vehicle and vehicle electronics enthusiast site).. the newer CAT stuff is a lot tougher to update. but not sure about pre ACERT stuff yet..
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2019, 10:30 AM   #36
Skoolie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: GTA
Posts: 159
Year: 2002
Coachwork: Thomas Built Buses
Chassis: FS-65
Engine: Cat 3126
Rated Cap: 66/44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Native View Post
Today, I went to the local Freightliner dealer to ask about adding cruise control to my bus. They were basically clueless. If it was not originally on the vehicle, they can not look it up because they use the VIN (last 6 characters) to look up the information about that particular build. While there, I called the Freightlier Custom Chassis 24-hour Help Desk (in Gafney, SC @ 800-385-4357) and they were using the same website that can access. They did say that if I can get the last six characters of a vehicle that has cruise control from the factory, then it can be looked up in PartsPro.


Sdferrell, would you mind giving me the last six characters of your VIN?
That's the same problem I had. Use these digits it was an earlier Fs65 of the same vintage that did have CC. J29506
Ab01ns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2019, 03:43 PM   #37
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,402
Year: 2002
Coachwork: Thomas Built Bus
Chassis: Freightliner FS65
Engine: Caterpillar 3126E Diesel
Rated Cap: 71 Passenger- 30,000 lbs.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ab01ns View Post
That's the same problem I had. Use these digits it was an earlier Fs65 of the same vintage that did have CC. J29506

Thank you. I'll start researching it this evening while I watch a few NCAA tournament games.
Native is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2019, 03:45 PM   #38
Skoolie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: GTA
Posts: 159
Year: 2002
Coachwork: Thomas Built Buses
Chassis: FS-65
Engine: Cat 3126
Rated Cap: 66/44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Native View Post
Thank you. I'll start researching it this evening while I watch a few NCAA tournament games.
Awesome. Please report back to us.
Ab01ns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2019, 03:48 PM   #39
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,402
Year: 2002
Coachwork: Thomas Built Bus
Chassis: Freightliner FS65
Engine: Caterpillar 3126E Diesel
Rated Cap: 71 Passenger- 30,000 lbs.
As I suspected ... I can only pull up information for the VIN that I own. This means I will have to get Freightliner to do the research. More on this soon ...
Native is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2019, 04:01 PM   #40
Bus Geek
 
EastCoastCB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Eustis FLORIDA
Posts: 20,145
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Freighliner FS65
Engine: Cat 3126
Rated Cap: 15
Has anyone called a bus parts supplier? THey all seem to have "thomas freightliner cruise switches".
__________________
.
Roll Your Own Build Thread
EastCoastCB is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×