Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-27-2021, 09:41 AM   #1

Engine and tranny questions!

Okay, here’s the gist. I’m actually a writer and im doing this for research. Maybe one day I’ll get around to converting my own Skoolie — my mom and I really want one.

Anyways, so the story centres around a bus. The first portion of the story is fixing it and converting it and other shtuff.

But I’m pretty much clueless. I know Cummins diesel engines (in dodges and Freightliners) and that’s pretty much it. I also know some mechanics, but again, on the above mentioned vehicles (and garbage trucks).

The bus in the story is a 1983 GMC (I think most buses are Bluebirds based on Google searches), but I can easily change stuff. It’s not set in stone. But I think most had gas engines (I was reading through this site but figured it would be easier for me to make my own post).

I was going to make it a diesel, manual with air brakes. Do they even have airbrakes? I can take that out too if need be.

Anyways, the bus has engine and tranny problems, so says the mechanic. Head gasket is leaking really bad, engine sounds tired. Tranny shifts horribly.

How easy of a fix is any of that? How pricey? Is it expensive to do an engine swap, if need be?

Pls help this desperate writer ! Thank you 🙏

Maddog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2021, 09:50 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
best advice.. buying a bus that has the drivetrain you want will always be more economical and practical esp if you arent super mechanical.. 83 GMC most likely has a 366 Gasoline engine and any number of transmissions..