Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-05-2021, 11:29 AM   #1

Year: 1997
Coachwork: BlueBird
Chassis: TC2000
Engine: Cummins 5.9 RE
Help: Identifying Coolant Intake and Return Valves for removing heaters

OK, I'm in need of some help. We have gotten to the stage of our demo where we are removing the 3 rear heaters. I know I need to shut off the intake and return valves for the coolant but...I am new to this and not entirely sure how to identify where these are. I *believe* I have identified the intake (going TO the heaters, my terminology is probably off) but I can't find the return (going back to the radiator?) valve.

We have a 1997 TC2000 Cummins 5.9 RE.

And yes, if anything I wrote reveals my ignorance, I am well aware that I am underqualified for this. I've looked at schematics and the users manual to no avail.

Can anyone help my identify (1) if I found the correct intake valve and (2) where the return valve is? Any help is appreciated!

MeganMargoFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2021, 12:43 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1999
Chassis: TC1000 HandyBus
Engine: 5.9L 24V-L6 Cummins ISB
Rated Cap: 26 foot
On my bus, there is a valve at the rear of the motor head. That feeds the heaters. Under the bus, next to the entrance way stairs, is the other valve. My bus has a big hose coming from the radiator bottom (at the front of the bus) to a black box just next to the motor. The heater hose loop enters this black box also, and there is the valve. The black box also has transmission lines going in/out, to cool the transmission fluid using the engine coolant after the radiator cools it.

Many folks here recommend (including me) you keep your interior heaters, even if you move/relocate them. I would definitely replace all the heater hose in that case; you don't want a leak into your new "house"
Old 04-05-2021, 01:04 PM   #3
Bus Nut

Year: 2000
Coachwork: IC / Amtran