Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-15-2020, 10:35 PM   #1

Is it the bus worth?

Heeeeey!
I am really new in the skoolie community and I found a great bus today. The engine is in great conditions and sounds like a baby. But I had a look in the motorroom and I found rust at some spots.. I took pictures and wonder if the bus will survive those rust spots or if it’s possible to get new parts.
It is a sweet deal and it’s driving good. I am just concerned about this.
Chevrolet 1988 bluebird
Thank you!
Attached Thumbnails
A2181173-38D9-4227-8084-033501F14976.jpg   BC08C2EC-F1E0-4A33-BACA-BCD4623032AD.jpg   68512F41-DFCB-4F83-8DF3-8BDA78119918.jpg   3F2B37E6-77B0-4119-A19B-4A8DB37A5E47.jpg  

lissi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2020, 02:23 AM   #2
Traveling

Year: None
Coachwork: None
Chassis: None
Engine: None
Rated Cap: None
Those pics honestly look like the exhaust manifold, which isn't going to hurt anything, it looks like typical manifold rust. Not a big deal because the manifold is thick cast iron and doesn't affect structural integrity anyway. Exhaust being rusted is a foregone conclusion, it is designed to be replaceable.

You need some shots of the flooring from underneath the bus and frame rails front to rear -- THAT will tell the tale... You also need to keep in mind that a 34-year-old bus is going to have some rust unless it spent all its life in TX, AZ or something like that.

Where is this bus currently, and where was it used when in service?
CHEESE_WAGON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2020, 11:03 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by CHEESE_WAGON View Post