Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2018, 02:50 PM   #1
Bus Nut
 
Whatthefak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Wisconsin N.E.
Posts: 412
Year: 2000
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Thomas
Engine: 5.9
Rated Cap: 72
Need an ECM for a cat 3126

I'm having a really hard time finding one anywhere near me

Any ideas? Anyone got one?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20180625_122024940.jpg (219.9 KB, 21 views)
Whatthefak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2018, 08:35 AM   #2
Skoolie
 
thrifty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Upstate, SC
Posts: 164
Year: 1992
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: International
Engine: DTA360
Need an ECM for a cat 3126

Omg why are they so expensive??? Only ones I can find are $625 or so. Wishing you luck.
thrifty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2018, 11:09 AM   #3
Bus Nut
 
Whatthefak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Wisconsin N.E.
Posts: 412
Year: 2000
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Thomas
Engine: 5.9
Rated Cap: 72
I know I'm trying to find a junk yard that might have one but up here no one seems to keep old ones
Whatthefak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2018, 11:18 AM   #4
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Picton,Ont, Can.
Posts: 1,956
Year: 1997
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: GMC
Engine: Cat 3116
Rated Cap: 72
Might I ask how the old ECM affects your bus? Does it run at all or not?


John
__________________
Question everything!
BlackJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2018, 07:28 PM   #5
Bus Nut
 
Whatthefak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Wisconsin N.E.
Posts: 412
Year: 2000
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Thomas
Engine: 5.9
Rated Cap: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackJohn View Post
Might I ask how the old ECM affects your bus? Does it run at all or not?


John
It's just a paperweight

Mechanic loaned me one that has a permanent check engine light, but I have to get it back to him by next week
Whatthefak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 03:48 PM   #6
Bus Crazy
 
joeblack5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: pa
Posts: 1,653
Year: 98
Coachwork: 1. Corbeil & 2. Thomas
Chassis: 1 ford e350 2 mercedes
Engine: 7.3 powerstroke & MBE906
OK. This was not the best weather to go the junkyard but anyhow I was curious myself.


cat3126 210 HP connected to a MD3060





This truck GMC6500C was used in a crash test. The tranny engine looks good although I cut through the ecm wiring.


Let me know if you want to give it a try.


Later J
joeblack5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 05:15 PM   #7
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: topeka kansas
Posts: 722
Year: 1954
Coachwork: wayne
Chassis: old f500- new 2005 f-450
Engine: cummins 12 valve
Rated Cap: 20? five rows of 4?
I'd give it a go.

Some of this stuff is in limited supply.... wonder if the trans is a 6 speed enabled.... then Id get both ecu and tcu
magnakansas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 06:00 PM   #8
Bus Crazy
 
joeblack5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: pa
Posts: 1,653
Year: 98
Coachwork: 1. Corbeil & 2. Thomas
Chassis: 1 ford e350 2 mercedes
Engine: 7.3 powerstroke & MBE906
I took the TCM as well but it says it is a 5speed. I bought a TCM for an MD3060 that is a 6 speed in the hope that it would work for my Allison B300R. But I chickened out.



But i would think that the ECM should be OK. May be the issue is already resolved with his mechanic?


Later J
joeblack5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 07:16 PM   #9
Bus Nut
 
Whatthefak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Wisconsin N.E.
Posts: 412
Year: 2000
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Thomas
Engine: 5.9
Rated Cap: 72
I bought a local ecm off same model and year cat, it was in a 5 speed manual Freightliner box truck
The numbers don't match my old one but neither do the numbers on the one I just drove 1000 miles with. Maybe I'll get lucky

Worth a shot for 200$
Whatthefak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 07:18 PM   #10
Bus Nut
 
Whatthefak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Wisconsin N.E.
Posts: 412
Year: 2000
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Thomas
Engine: 5.9
Rated Cap: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeblack5 View Post
OK. This was not the best weather to go the junkyard but anyhow I was curious myself.


cat3126 210 HP connected to a MD3060





This truck GMC6500C was used in a crash test. The tranny engine looks good although I cut through the ecm wiring.


Let me know if you want to give it a try.


Later J
I should know in the next couple days if this isn't gonna work.

Thank you alot for looking!
Whatthefak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 07:43 PM   #11
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 12,978
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
the ECM serial number doesnt matter but the type of trans does.. it needs to have the J1939 link enabled if you have an electronic translike a 3060.. if you have a 545 or a 643 or a stick then the trans type doesnt matter in the ECM.. otherwise your trans wont work right unless the J1939 comms is enabled all the time regardless.. I dont know enough about CAT ECM's.. I know on navistar the link only enables a subset of functionality when manual trans is selected..
-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 08:29 PM   #12
Bus Crazy
 
joeblack5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: pa
Posts: 1,653
Year: 98
Coachwork: 1. Corbeil & 2. Thomas
Chassis: 1 ford e350 2 mercedes
Engine: 7.3 powerstroke & MBE906
Hi Chris, that is what I was thinking but I do not know what transmission he has. Eitherway if anybody needs a cat 3126 ecm mated to md3060 then give me a PM. I would like to get $250 for it so that I can buy a nexig usb2 clone.


later J
joeblack5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 10:12 PM   #13
Bus Nut
 
Whatthefak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Wisconsin N.E.
Posts: 412
Year: 2000
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Thomas
Engine: 5.9
Rated Cap: 72
I have a 3060

I know way to little about the ecm

I was hoping to take my loaner and this one up to the cat shop to have my new one set like the old one
Whatthefak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 10:32 PM   #14
Bus Nut
 
Whatthefak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Wisconsin N.E.
Posts: 412
Year: 2000
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Thomas
Engine: 5.9
Rated Cap: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadillackid View Post
the ECM serial number doesnt matter but the type of trans does.. it needs to have the J1939 link enabled if you have an electronic translike a 3060.. if you have a 545 or a 643 or a stick then the trans type doesnt matter in the ECM.. otherwise your trans wont work right unless the J1939 comms is enabled all the time regardless.. I dont know enough about CAT ECM's.. I know on navistar the link only enables a subset of functionality when manual trans is selected..
-Christopher
Are you saying a mechanic can not change this in the ecm, like internally the ecms are different.

I was thinking they are mass produced and set individually for application
Whatthefak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2018, 11:13 AM   #15
Bus Nut
 
Whatthefak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Wisconsin N.E.
Posts: 412
Year: 2000
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Thomas
Engine: 5.9
Rated Cap: 72
Ok ran it past the mechanic in SC that helped me out, he said they only make one ecm for the 3126 I'll have to get it reprogrammed

Now to find someone local that won't charge a ton
Whatthefak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2018, 12:51 PM   #16
Bus Crazy
 
joeblack5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: pa
Posts: 1,653
Year: 98
Coachwork: 1. Corbeil & 2. Thomas
Chassis: 1 ford e350 2 mercedes
Engine: 7.3 powerstroke & MBE906
What is the number on the ecm that you got from the mechanic .Did he pick it out of bunch he had? Did he select that one because it had been mated with a certain transmission?


good luck , J
joeblack5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2018, 01:12 PM   #17
Bus Nut
 
Whatthefak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Wisconsin N.E.
Posts: 412
Year: 2000
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Thomas
Engine: 5.9
Rated Cap: 72
He only had one. He didn't even remember what it was out of. But not a bus.

He bolted it up plugged in his laptop and 10 min later I was on the road

For real if anyone is in that area tristate truck and trailer in SC is so awesome.
Whatthefak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2018, 01:18 PM   #18
Bus Nut
 
Whatthefak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Wisconsin N.E.
Posts: 412
Year: 2000
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Thomas
Engine: 5.9
Rated Cap: 72
Chip the head guy was so cool to me I'm considering sending both ecms and some money to just have him clone what he gave me.

I'd have to park my bus outside, I don't wanna, inside I have easy access to tools and shop compressor and not in the hot sun.

The closest shop with cat gear doesn't sound like the want to touch it without my bus there and I don't want to drive 45min in an uninsured unregistered half stripped bus when I know it can be done without the bus.

In SC he hooked it to power and plugged in the laptop outside the bus
Whatthefak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×