Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-09-2017, 07:17 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1998
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: MVP ER
Engine: Cummins 8.3 Mech / P pump
New Bus! New Problems...

Hello all,

I've been lurking here awhile but I've never posted. Now that I've bought a bus, I finally have something to talk about! I'm new to this whole thing, and while I would say I'm mechanically minded (currently studying mechanical / aerospace engineering) I know very little about buses.

Apologies for the long post, but if anyone is knowledgable about these problems, the help (and excessive detail - like you're talking to a five year old!) would be greatly appreciated!

I recently purchased a 1998 RE Thomas bus - school bus everything except transit windows.
It's got an Mt643 tranny and the famed Cummins 8.3.
It does have 375,000 miles on it, but no biggie .

On the drive home, it mostly behaved. Steering was tight, power was good, and brakes were strong. However, there were some problems.

1) Trans temp, speedo/miles counter gauges do not work at all.

2) tach seemed inaccurate - RPMs were well above 4k at some points (ie way over the scale on the gauge)

3) Intermittent power loss on the road (near the beginning of the drive, happened twice, no problems later on).

This was also paired with a very noisy accelerator that made wooshing sounds (air accelerator? what even is that?)

On idle, the rpms also periodically pulse - the engine audibly gets faster for a few seconds, then slows back down for a few seconds, etc. This is paired with dimming of the lights as the engine revs.

Hopefully this is just some problem with the pedal itself, but I know other culprits include the sensor in the little bulge under the gas pedal, clogged fuel lines / filters.

4) a Dented rim. How much to replace?