Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-16-2021, 12:29 PM   #1

Talking New Skoolie Fan needs advice on first conversion make and model!

Good afternoon Skoolie community! I am so happy to get to know you all. I am finally ready to fulfill my long time dream of buying and converting a school bus. As a former massage therapist, I don't have much mechanical experience; however, I excel at body mechanics, physics and geometry. I've scored in the top 96% on the ASVAB test for mechanical aptitude. I have basic knowledge / experience about home improvement and using power tools from working with my parents on their houses. I am also a hands on learner and a quick study in all things mechanical / structural.

I have done a lot of research on the conversion part of the project, but choosing a bus still seems like Greek to me. I would greatly appreciate any insight that may point me in the direction of the right bus for me!

I am looking for a mid size bus because I think it would be easier to maneuver than a long bus, get better gas mileage, and be able to access more places and parks. I am a huge fan of hiking and all things out doors. This bus is for me and my pets, cats and a dog, and maybe a partner in the future. I am quite a minimalist when it comes to interior design, and plan to maximize the available living space and make room for guests. Any ideas on space saving tips would also be appreciated.