Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-20-2020, 05:36 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1999
Coachwork: International
Chassis: RE3000 AMTRAN w/ Allison MD3060 Transmission
Engine: DT466E 230HP
NO CRANK - 1999 International Amtran RE - DT466E Allison MD3060

Hello all. I am having issues with my 1999 International Amtran RE Bus - DT466E engine with Allison MD3060 transmission. I had been working on the bus for several months over the winter and I recently tried to start the bus and it won’t crank. Before this issue, the bus started great and ran without issues.

When I turn the key to start the bus, the dash comes alive and the gauges sweep, however, the push button shift selector does not light up. There is also a fuse that keeps blowing every time I turn the key to run – fuse location F34 (below the driver side window in the fuse box) and it is a 30 amp with the description of “BAT FEED | AIR ABS.”

Both batteries have been charged and all the connections on them have been cleaned. I did remove several emergency exit windows and both roof emergency exits along with all the wiring for them. I understand that some of the problem might be due to the interlock caused by the open circuit of those wires being removed, but I don’t believe that would be causing the shifter panel to not activate and the continual blowing of that fuse. I’m stumped at this point, and due to the pandemic, I have to wait for my local truck mechanic (Associate International Dealer and Allison Transmission shop) to come out and take a look at it.

I would like to try things myself as I am trying to get the bus moved to continue working on projects. I have most all of the electrical diagrams for the bus, chassis, and transmission - so I am able to reference all of that.

If anyone has any idea as to what I can try, I would appreciate any help. If you need more info or pictures, just let me know.