Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-26-2019, 09:16 PM   #1
Skoolie

Year: 2002
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: Freightliner
Engine: Cat3126
Possible and how much to add air suspension?

Okay, total newbie question here. Found two buses we love , one not geared right, the other, no air suspension. Both right length, 3126, Allison 2000, 230,000 miles, tall ceiling short buses. One without air suspension much closer to home? Thoughts? Seems like every shorty we see is 545 and we have family in the Rockies. How often do you find a bus with everything, right engine. Transmission, air everything, tall ceiling, short bus. Everywhere I’m looking and reading seems the shorties in high demand.
Thank you for the education!
Karen and Todd

Kaleth2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2019, 12:26 AM   #2
Bus Crazy

A bus with a Cat engine would be off my list immediately.

A bus with an Allison AT-540 transmission would be off my list pretty quick as well.

A bus with hydraulic brakes would be off my list right away as well.

Unless you are getting the buses for next to free I would keep shopping until you find a bus with the power package you would prefer.
cowlitzcoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2019, 02:36 AM   #3
Bus Crazy

Year: 2001
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: IH
Engine: T444E
Rated Cap: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaleth2 View Post
Okay, total newbie question here. Found two buses we love , one not geared right, the other, no air suspension. Both right length, 3126, Allison 2000, 230,000 miles, tall ceiling short buses. One without air suspension much closer to home? Thoughts? Seems like every shorty we see is 545 and we have family in the Rockies. How often do you find a bus with everything, right engine. Transmission, air everything, tall ceiling, short bus. Everywhere I’m looking and reading seems the shorties in high demand.
Karen and Todd
Quote: