Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-23-2021, 01:01 AM   #1

Year: 1987
Chassis: International
Unhappy Radiator reservoir replacement help!

Hi everyone, first post! I recently purchased a fully built off grid Skoolie and unfortunately, it broke down on the way home and has been at the shop ever since (almost 2 weeks now) :/.. The tank was rusted, cracked and leaked completely dry.(Only made it an hour down the road before it bursted) The mechanics tried to save the current radiator fluid tank but couldn’t keep it from leaking again. So they said I’m pretty much out of luck because the bus is old (1987) so they don’t know where to find the replacement part.

So does anyone know where I can find a radiator tank reservoir? I’m completely new to this and don’t really know where to look....
My bus is a 1987 international, 7 window long, VIN-1HVLNHGM6HH527263. I don’t really know anything else about it or the engine. If anyone could help guide me to find a solution I’d be forever grateful! Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
E1E339DF-D902-4C35-8535-81FECDA8E5DC.jpg  

Mountainslife8899 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2021, 05:26 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
Well knowing the engine would help but I’m assuming it’s either a 6.9 IDI diesel or a DT466 inline 6.

On the diesels the bottle is pretty standard it’s a pressurized vessel with several lines and a cap. There’s not much special about them so retrofitting from a 3800 is likely your best bet. 3800s are all over in junkyards. Or the truck version which is a 4000 series. Yours is an S series.

The cap determines the pressure so you can look at it to see what psi you need (probably 10).

Someone here may be able to look at your vin and get a part number for your original but I’m thinking a retrofit may be in order.