Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-17-2021, 10:34 AM   #1
Bus Nut

Year: 2006
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: MVP-EF
Engine: Cat C7 + Allison 3000PTS
Reman vs new Air Dryer?

It's looking like my Bendix AD9 (065612) air dryer is leaking, and given that I'm new to buses and the air system is a very critical system, I'd rather replace the whole dryer than try to save a few bucks rebuilding it. That being said, I've seen reman units on eBay that are $150-200 or so. I called my local Thomas dealer and I can get a new one for $466.91.

I'm thinking the new unit is the "safe" choice, but it's spendy. Is there anywhere else I should look for good quality remanufactured units? I see lots of AD9 variants, but the one I need with that specific part number is sort of shorter than the "typical" AD9s I find when searching around.

I've attached some pictures of mine for reference. No visible part number but the form factor matches 065612 perfectly.
Attached Thumbnails
21-06-16 20-09-56 3550.jpg   21-06-16 20-15-43 3560.jpg   21-06-16 20-10-17 3552.jpg  

dbsoundman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2021, 11:46 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1984
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: International 1753
Engine: 6.9 International
Rated Cap: 65
That's an ADIP dryer, not an ad9. Those can be a pain to service, because the center bolt will corrode to the dryer cartridge and aluminum housing badly. You might have to use a heavy duty strap wrench, and a breaker bar with a pipe to get it to spin off.

Yours looks like it hasn't been serviced in years, so good luck with it if you do plan on service/rebuild. A reman might be your best bet.

You can upgrade that to an ad9. But it is a taller unit, so you might have to get creative with the bracketry. Especially if you intend on servicing an ad9, because it can't be located closely to the floor like yours currently is.