Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-04-2019, 07:29 PM   #1
Skoolie

Year: 2001
Coachwork: Thomas Bus
Chassis: Allison MD 3060
Engine: Catepillar 3126B 210hp/605 ft lb
Slow up hills

As a newbie I have no idea how fast (slow) my bus should go.

I have a few more weeks of work on my interior conversion, then heading to Alaska with 3 of my kids for the summer

When I bought it last fall I drove it home 150 miles but encountered no hills till 12 miles from home. I drove 60 on the interstate (first bus drive ever...), then hit hills in western mass/southern vermont. 30 up one hill on a state highway (that has a truck climbing lane), and 15-20 up the steep 2 mile dirt road up to my house (about 850 foot climb).

Had a full $39.95 oil change look over service at Fleetpride, and asked them if thats all she had in her. They weren't wonderful but... (opps, did I put a . in that price quote), but they made me calm and changed air dryer and some big space ship looking brake component underneath and freed up a frozen shackle...)

Anyway had a nice drive today to get more used to her. A 2 mile 8% climb on a state highway with a climbing lane got me down to 22mph. On the flats she drive the speed limits easy.

My LIMITED knowledge of diesel engines is that not much can be done (ie no timing...) and this MAY be all I get. (Full disclosure, my summer car, a 74 vw thing gets up those same hills at 40 when fully loaded with my family).

I dont mind going slow and feel the bus is rolling and performing well for what it is. And then I think WTF what if I was going up the Rockies? (which I am not...this year).

Does this sound like an issue? It was built as an urban city bus. Is a CAT 3126 210 hp underpowered for my vehicle?

Would LOVE your experienced comments on my ride, and if you guys think I should search for a repair or service...thanks

matthews2001 is offline   Reply With Quote