Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-10-2022, 10:16 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 2006
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Front Engine
Engine: Cat C7
Rated Cap: 84
Streaming analytics on ECM data?

Reposting from another board -

Anyone know how to stream data from a 2004 CAT C7?

Yes, I know I could get CAT ET on my laptop, but that's not what I'm after.

I'd like to get a data stream from the ECM on my bus so that I can have both live and trended views of engine data in real time.

The little bit I've seen on CAT ET is unimpressive. It's build for techs to troubleshoot/tune an engine. I want to get at the raw data stream so that I can use it to build a glass cockpit for my bus, and have full dataset from my engine to review trends in metrics so that I can stay ahead of things on PM.

I'm a business intelligence consultant by trade. I spend my working hours structuring all types of raw data for analysis and building analytical tools to help folks make better decisions based on said data. This seems like it would be both extremely useful, and lots of fun.
Anyone ever tried this before?
Anyone have insight on whether it is possible to get raw data from a CAT ECM w/o ET?
Does CAT have their ECM data so locked down with their proprietary software that this is impossible?
Any other reasons why this may be a dumb idea?

I'd love to hear your thoughts

tomrasdf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2022, 08:24 AM   #2
Mini-Skoolie

Crickets? I kinda surprised.

I would have through that someone else would have tried to hack this before me.

I spoke to a friend of mine who is a diesel mechanic, and his interactions w/ data form the ECM has been limited to diagnostics through JPro etc, but he's asking around at the shop for me to see if anyone's tried to stream this data for real-time engine data outside of the diagnostic context.