Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-19-2023, 05:32 PM   #1

Year: 2004
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: Ford e450
Engine: 6 liter turbo diesel
Rated Cap: 24
Ford/Carrier A/C help

I am a newbie to this site, live in San Diego County, so please forgive me if this is not posted in the proper place. I could really use some advice. We have a 2004 Bluebird Mircrobus on a Ford e450 6-liter turbo-diesel cutaway frame that I converted to a skoolie myself. Has Carrier A/C unit in
back -- with condenser under the skirt -- which hasn't been working, and dash A/C in the Ford cab. It hass been good to use for about 16,000+ miles. But on a recent trip, A/C compressor on the engine began screaming *loud.* When I looked at it, I could see clutch seizing periodically. Noise stopped completely when A/C was turned off. Took it to Ford dealer when we got home. They said there were metal shavings in the system, and that the two units -- dash and Carrier -- are connected. Told me they could not fix it, we had to take it somewhere to have the Carrier A/C serviced before the could do anything with Ford dash unit. I am having trouble finding anyone to do the work. Mobile Climate Control, which Carrier sold it's mobile business to, closed its San Diego location and nearest one is hours away. Others have declined the job. I'd like to separate the back unit - since we've never really used it -- from the dash A/C, and then get that repaired. Any advice on where to have that done? (I don't have freon collection or skills for that work.) Also, we are planning to use the bus soon. Compressor noise stops completely when you turn A/C off. Do you think it is OK to drive it that way, and not damage the serpentine belt or anything else? I would really appreciate your advice.

Old 05-19-2023, 06:12 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1999
Coachwork: El Dorado Fiberglass
Chassis: Ford E450
Engine: V10 Gas