Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-11-2016, 09:02 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Chevy 366 carb adjustment

Hey all,

I'm a newbie and I just picked up a 1987 Bluebird 62 passenger bus in Oklahoma city. Will I've been making my way back to Virginia and it's been one thing after another.

I had the carb replaced with a rebuilt performance carb as I was able to ascertain that the distributor had been replaced and not all the barrels on the previous carb were opening so she would lose power if you dumped the throttle and you'd have to slow down to 15mph in order to get back on it.

Great so the new carb was awesome for about 300miles, power felt good, solid acceleration then randomly I started experiencing power loss, backfires and I couldn't maintain 40mph. Shut it down, pulled over everything looked fine. Started right back up but still didn't have the power it did before, I could get back to 50mph but it took forever... Worked fine for a while then again, back fires (acting like fuel is being dumped to the exhaust and detonating not necessarily combustion during exhaust stroke), and missing. And now I'm in Kentucky and I can barely make it up a hill.

This all seems like an adjustment issue, since I replaced the plugs, wires, air filter and fuel filter. So any tips on adjusting this thing? Or am I missing something else? It seems odd that the problem is intermittent and is fixed by turning off then back on.

As a side note, the drivers side rear brake locked up... Going to make a different post about that but since I have a limited set of tools I've got a mechanic coming out before I keep driving (it was glowing red and throwing sparks when I noticed it, so I slept in a dirt lot last night). So any general tips on that are appreciated, I'm definitely feeling a bit overwhelmed at the moment.

Thanks

snorris8236 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2016, 09:20 AM   #2