Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-24-2020, 06:53 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

New Crown

Hello -
I just recently picked up a 1990 Crown Super Coach and have some initial questions regarding the Detroit 6-71T.

First where would be the best place to pick up service manuals for this particular bus? Not finding a whole lot online.

Secondly, I was told this particular bus doesn't have a governor. Not sure if that's by design or failure but how could I verify/fix this issue. I am new to driving the 10 speed and I am afraid of over revving this thing if I haven't already.

Can anyone suggest a fair/honest Detroit mechanic in the Billings area?

rdt9910 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2020, 07:31 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 2000
Coachwork: Winnebago
Chassis: Ford F53
Engine: Ford Triton V-10
Rated Cap: currently 2
My understanding is peak torque for this engine is around 1,600rpm and its peak rpm is about 2,300rpm. This seems pretty consistent for most types of diesel engines because they don't need high RPMs to achieve peak torque. The two-stroke Detroit diesels are an increasingly rare breed and as such mechanics who know them are also growing rarer.

Those aren't the classic vintage style Crowns but they should still be reliable and a good platform for your build plan. Of course rarity is its own burden so like the engine expect to have to look harder anytime you need info on these unique but uncommon coaches. Detroit Diesel isn't common in other brand school buses but is much more common in charter style motorcoaches like MCI so you can probably keep that in mind as you look for who might be more likely to know those engines. Those engines are also common in marine applications but I'm not sure how much help that is going to be in MT!
Sehnsucht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2020, 09:13 PM   #3
Bus Crazy

Year: 1971
Coachwork: Wayne