Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-15-2020, 05:00 AM   #1

00 international T444e Crank/no start

Forgive me guys, this isn’t actually a bus, it’s one of my scissor dump trucks ( wil include a pic, because most people have never seen em)

Bought this from auction about a year ago for $5100. Drove it from San Diego to WA state. I’m a commercial roofing contractor, so I immediately put it to work and it’s been going ever since. It came from another roofing company, no word on why it was auctioned, but it ran fine coming home and was doing great the whole time. It’s isn’t being driven around daily, and been mainly stores at different job sites for months at a time between a few projects.

Full disclaimer, these trucks are used and abused and are ‘go go go’ until situations like this. Posted here because google search of ‘ crank, no start T444e’ had me reading here for hours. I haven’t dug too deep into things yet, because it’s sitting at a jobsite and we lose daylight early but I’ll give a quick rundown of pertinent info

Milage = unknown. Said it has 120k, but after driving, I recognize it hasn’t moved ever

Haven’t checked oil, but there’s a lot of buildup all over thr motor. Oil change and filter = first course of action regardless

Coolant was low. I don’t remember it ever overheating, but the reservoir didn’t register anything and took about a gallon to get to the min fill line

While cranking, RPMs move, exhaust smokes, there seems to be some pressure at fuel filter, but I haven’t checked it with huge. I removed top to fuel filter and it was bone dry initially .

Truck sputtered at low rpms and would kick in fine once it started moving. Also smoked while sputtering. I didn’t realize this until one of my employees drove the truck.

I can’t think of anything else at the moment, but I’ll update with anything that comes to mind while I’m at the jobsite tomorrow.