Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-01-2021, 11:40 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 2000
Coachwork: AmTran
Chassis: Navistar International 3800
Engine: DT466E
Rated Cap: 65
'99 dt466e with air brakes, has constant low pressure alarm and slow pressure build.

I just bought this bus, it seems okay, but running a bit rough. I'm new to busses so I don't really know what to expect.
I looked up air brake tests before I drove it home. It was fine when I left on my 150 mile journey but about half way home the air pressure alarm started going constant, sometimes changing tone almost going off, then starting again. During all this the pressure stayed above 110 on the gauge. I tried the airbrake tests that are required for the certification and everything was fine with the tests of whether the brakes or tank hold pressure, except the test where you time how long it takes to get back up to full pressure. It seems to take around 3-5 minutes, however it does reach full pressure and stays around 110-120psi, seemed to work and stop properly but would still recharge slowly.
It didn't cause any scary problems so I drove it home. I'm just working on tearing the interior out and I won't be driving it for at least a year, but I figured it would be good to look into the issue. I've worked on a lot of cars but I'm not familiar with diesels specifically, and definitely not air brakes.
Is it possible the pressure sender for the compressor has gone bad and is leaking pressure? or am I way off? Any thoughts or suggestions?

Also, what would be things to look for if it's running fairly smooth but seems to lose power in the mid rpms and surge at idle when cold? boost leaks? worn charge pipes? needs oil changed and trans service? or is that just something that's normal with the power curve of a diesel?

laegion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2021, 10:03 AM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1999