Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-17-2019, 12:13 PM   #41
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 12,623
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
the external harness is the expensive one... now i want to know how the original got Melted from a monster truck.. if the bus batteries were actually imstalled and connected , and the harness connected to the transmission and TCM when the harness got melted, then id be returning all that.. if it was melted from a torch doing some cutting, thats a different story then your TCM and trans should be fine
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2019, 12:21 PM   #42
Skoolie
 
Rogue1bus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadillackid View Post
the external harness is the expensive one... now i want to know how the original got Melted from a monster truck.. if the bus batteries were actually imstalled and connected , and the harness connected to the transmission and TCM when the harness got melted, then id be returning all that.. if it was melted from a torch doing some cutting, thats a different story then your TCM and trans should be fine


No the scrap yard pulled the engine (t444e) sold it to a friend, pulled the transmission (Allison 2000) and tcm and sold it to someone else that mistakenly thought it had a pto. That person figured out it wouldnít work for them because it didnít have a pto and returned shortly before I came to the scrap yard. During the time the previous person had the transmission the donor bus was smashed up at the monster truck thing then sold for scrap and melted down.
Rogue1bus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2019, 01:02 PM   #43
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 12,623
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
good deal so the drivetrain was harvested prior..
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2019, 04:04 PM   #44
Skoolie
 
Rogue1bus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadillackid View Post
good deal so the drivetrain was harvested prior..


Do you know if the external harness is universal? As in can I get a used external harness from another donor vehicle regardless of engine type?

Then I could have the TCM to ECM cable made specifically for my application since it should only be two connector plugs... the round bulkhead plug to whatever input MY 545 is currently using.
Rogue1bus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2019, 04:23 PM   #45
Skoolie
 
Rogue1bus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 150
Like this one... looks like it will work. But I have to keep researching..

IMG_4215.jpg
Rogue1bus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2019, 10:42 PM   #46
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 911
Year: 2000
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: International
Engine: TE 444
Rated Cap: 12
my harness was custom made by a guy that no longer does it, all I had originally was the TCU with the 2 plugs in it with about a foot of wires on it
Kubla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2019, 03:15 AM   #47
Bus Crazy
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,445
Year: 2002
Coachwork: Thomas Built Bus
Chassis: Freightliner FS65
Engine: Caterpillar 3126E Diesel
Rated Cap: 71 Passenger- 30,000 lbs.
I posted the Freightliner part number for the harness to our 2002 homas Built Bus in your other thread. The number is: A06-43296-000.
Native is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2019, 07:20 AM   #48
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 12,623
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
you can use another harness.. and the only TCM to ECM connection is usually the J1939 link which is 3 wires..


depending on your application the speedometer may get its signal from the J1939 or may get it from a signal wire that produces 40 pulses per driveshaft rev... an allison AT545 produces 16, you can reprogram your ECM to use 40, or you can use a Dakota digital speed sensor signal converter box.. your ECM may need reprogrammed to get throttle info to the trans.. no way to know.. on international then you will need to reprogram your ECM or the speed signal sensor will throw error codes.. im not sure on a freightliner or bluebird ECM, how they handle it. I went through a bit of a mess till I got the software to reprogram my ECM with the 'Allison MD' (stands for WTEC III integration).. vs allison AT/MT.



Kubla - Jason retired for good? last i talked to him he was thinking about it, that guy is good, sad to see him out of the business..

-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2019, 07:42 AM   #49
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 12,623
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
P.S. I remember now that you are T-444E, on the ECM side of the engine there will be a 3 pin connector that is stubbed off near the valve cover.. if you pull the jacket back a little it should have a yellow,green, and black wire.. thats your J1939 connection which will wire to CAN on Gray TCM connector..



these would be broken out already if you get a harness from the same engine..


your VSS pins are there too..



Screen Shot 2019-02-18 at 7.40.31 AM.png


-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2019, 10:27 AM   #50
Skoolie
 
Rogue1bus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadillackid View Post
P.S. I remember now that you are T-444E, on the ECM side of the engine there will be a 3 pin connector that is stubbed off near the valve cover.. if you pull the jacket back a little it should have a yellow,green, and black wire.. thats your J1939 connection which will wire to CAN on Gray TCM connector..



these would be broken out already if you get a harness from the same engine..


your VSS pins are there too..



Attachment 29974


-Christopher


First, thank you Christopher, Kubla, and Native. For all the help and knowledge. I owe you guys big time.

Iím about to purchase this harness but there are a couple of connectors I canít identify. I looked on the transmission and I can see that all the connections that plug into the transmission and the TCM are there. But I donít know what Iím looking at on the other side of the harness. This harness is an international part according to LKQ so I would guess itís got a better chance of plugging into the existing harness. I want to avoid having to pay shipping twice and a 20% restocking fee..

IMG_4215.jpg
IMG_4216.jpgIMG_4218.jpg
Rogue1bus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2019, 10:39 AM   #51
Skoolie
 
Rogue1bus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 150
PS. I guess some of these other plugs on the bus side could be for reverse lights/beepers etc. That one large 8 pin plug is still puzzling me.
Rogue1bus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2019, 01:55 PM   #52
Skoolie
 
Rogue1bus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 150
I talked to the international dealer and gave them the harness part number.

They told me the harness is compatible with 3200 series buses that were equipped with dt466 engines.

I have a bluefire j1939 code reader so Iím feeling pretty confident I will be able to make this harness work despite it being designed or a different engine.
Rogue1bus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2019, 04:00 PM   #53
Skoolie
 
Rogue1bus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 150
I ordered the wiring harness today. Hopefully Iíll be able to get it to interface with my t444e.

Kestrel 308.jpg

This Iím my TCM, Iím banking on my ECU being capable of sending throttle info to the TCM... if not Iíll need to find a work around.
Rogue1bus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2019, 05:14 PM   #54
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 12,623
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
Your throttle will send from that 3 pin connector I described, you need to reprogram the ECM to make the Speedo and cruise work correctly and not throw codes.
Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2019, 05:18 PM   #55
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 12,623
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
Iíll have to see if my oncommand has the pinouts for all those connectors, it should since it covers those years. You may have to add some wiring in the chassis side as it may not be there by default.
Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2019, 06:56 PM   #56
Skoolie
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 190
Year: 2003
Coachwork: International
Chassis: Integrated CE S
Engine: DT466
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogue1bus View Post
Chesapeake and Newport News va
Rogue,

What scrap yard(s) did you go to? I'll likely be trying to poke around some scrap yards if not just for fun.
__________________
Build thread: https://www.skoolie.net/forums/f11/bus-down-by-the-river-26371.html
inhof009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2019, 07:45 PM   #57
Skoolie
 
Rogue1bus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by inhof009 View Post
Rogue,



What scrap yard(s) did you go to? I'll likely be trying to poke around some scrap yards if not just for fun.

Rudyís!

IMG_4735.jpg
Rogue1bus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×