Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-18-2023, 09:07 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Bluefire vs fix guages

I am starting to plan for our expected summer cross country trip. While we made it home with a code scanner for engine temp and a phone gps for a speedo I would love a less exciting drive this summer! I'm debating between getting the bluefire and tablet setup or looking into re soldering this gauge cluster myself. Which I have zero experience in but I am a licensed electrician. I'm fairly confident in my ability to buy a bluefire after I screw it up haha. Does anyone have any advice on which way to go. I lean towards bluefire and be done however I don't believe it will show trans temp?

Desertsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2023, 09:14 AM   #2
Skoolie

Year: 2008
Chassis: IC RE (PB30500)
Engine: Maxxforce DT
Quote:
Originally Posted by Desertsparky View Post
I am starting to plan for our expected summer cross country trip. While we made it home with a code scanner for engine temp and a phone gps for a speedo I would love a less exciting drive this summer! I'm debating between getting the bluefire and tablet setup or looking into re soldering this gauge cluster myself. Which I have zero experience in but I am a licensed electrician. I'm fairly confident in my ability to buy a bluefire after I screw it up haha. Does anyone have any advice on which way to go. I lean towards bluefire and be done however I don't believe it will show trans temp?
Not sure what bus you have but I know for my 08 international RE there's a company on eBay that sells rebuilt gauge clusters for $500. Most have extra gauges compared to mine like Trans temp and an ammeter. Could work out cheaper than a bluefire.
Old 03-18-2023, 12:42 PM   #3
Mini-Skoolie