Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-13-2021, 10:26 AM   #1

DT 466E Stalling

Hey, I’m a newbie here and not a mechanic in any way.

I have a question about my 2003 International with a 5 speed Spicer manual transmission and DT 466E engine. I bought the bus last spring and have done the full conversion. Just recently it’s been stalling a minute or so after it turns over. It idles at 6-700 and then it revs up a little then stalls out. It turns over every time after this happens though. After 6 or so times of cranking it over, it idles fine and runs great. Any ideas? A friend of mine said it might be a low-to-high idle issue (a module?). Any input would be appreciated. Thanks.

Tuna75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2021, 11:04 AM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1999
Chassis: Amtran / International
Engine: DT466E HT 250HP - Md3060
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuna75 View Post
Hey, I’m a newbie here and not a mechanic in any way.

I have a question about my 2003 International with a 5 speed Spicer manual transmission and DT 466E engine. I bought the bus last spring and have done the full conversion. Just recently it’s been stalling a minute or so after it turns over. It idles at 6-700 and then it revs up a little then stalls out. It turns over every time after this happens though. After 6 or so times of cranking it over, it idles fine and runs great. Any ideas? A friend of mine said it might be a low-to-high idle issue (a module?). Any input would be appreciated. Thanks.
Interesting problem...

Does this only happen when you do a COLD start up?

Once it is running and reaches operating temp, if you shut it down does it start right back up?
ewo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2021, 11:07 AM   #3
Bus Nut

Year: 1998
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: TC/2000
Engine: 5.9 Cummins 12-valve
Rated Cap: 1