Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-30-2022, 12:25 PM   #1
Almost There

Year: 2002
Chassis: 30ft International FE | Gear Ratio 4.63
Engine: INTL DT466 HT 215HP/2400 GOV
Rated Cap: GVWR: 34220
Dt466e Coolant reservoir?

Hey all, complete noob here but trying to learn as quick as possible.

I recently bought a bus and the person I bought it from said the reservoir by the windshield wiper fluid is extra coolant that the engine will use if needed. (It says coolant on it).

However the coolant inside it is red but when I open the radiator cap the coolant is green. Everywhere I’ve red it’s a big no no to mix the two different types.

Am I missing something and Are they two different systems? Or should I do a complete coolant flush?

Thanks for your responses
Attached Thumbnails
9DECD8E1-44F7-42E5-A7E6-FA0EDC61F3A7.jpg   0A0B2F56-40A7-4026-AEDF-50D5DC4E93A9.jpg   415FF9A2-C389-4AEA-A51F-508EAD8EA67F.jpg  

nconn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2022, 05:24 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1998
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: TC/2000
Engine: 5.9 Cummins 12-valve
Rated Cap: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by nconn View Post
Hey all, complete noob here but trying to learn as quick as possible.

I recently bought a bus and the person I bought it from said the reservoir by the windshield wiper fluid is extra coolant that the engine will use if needed. (It says coolant on it).

However the coolant inside it is red but when I open the radiator cap the coolant is green. Everywhere I’ve red it’s a big no no to mix the two different types.

Am I missing something and Are they two different systems? Or should I do a complete coolant flush?

Thanks for your responses
First thing to do is go to the User CP above and fill out some basic info in the Your Profile section for the bus you have. It would help for any future questions, like maybe if you had a code issue. So how did that work out?