Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-19-2017, 06:36 PM   #1
Almost There

Replacement glow plugs?

I have a t444e and I was wondering where is a good place to purchase glow plugs in Montana and what is a good brand to go with? Any input will be appreciated.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

Qya1991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2017, 06:48 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
the glowplugs on the 444E are the same as on the ford powerstroke 7.3, look at the model year sticker on the valve cover of your motor and then go to any auto parts store and tell them you have an F-250 of that year with a Powerstroke 7.3 diesel..

-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2017, 07:04 PM   #3
Almost There

Okay thanks. I'm new to the diesel world. I heard there is a additive that needs to be added to the coolant? How do you test to know if it needs the additive.

Old 02-19-2017, 08:47 PM   #4
Bus Nut

Year: 2002
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: All American
Engine: Cummins 8.3/Allison MD3060
Rated Cap: 84
Looks like Rock Auto has Bosch glow plugs for 6 bucks apiece.
Rameses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2017, 09:02 PM   #5
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1990
Coachwork: Shuttle Bus
Chassis: Ford E350
Engine: Ford 460/7.5l
Rated Cap: 15
IMHO Motorcraft ZD-9's are the only way to go...other brands can and will swell at the tip making extraction very difficult. Sometimes the tip breaks off in the head and pulling the head may be the only safe way to get it out.
Old 02-19-2017, 09:54 PM   #6
Bus Crazy

Year: 2000
Coachwork: Eldorado Aerotech 24'
Chassis: Ford E-450 Cutaway Bus
Engine: 7.3L Powerstroke
Rated Cap: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qya1991 View Post