Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-14-2011, 01:28 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1986
Coachwork: bluebird
Engine: Int. DT466
Rated Cap: 35
suggestions on my engine swap?

I've got an 86 international s 1700 bus with a 6.9L engine. I've been running wvo for a few years now and have had great success traveling around the country, that is, until last summer when after a very unfortunate miss-communication I ended up with a small amount of corrosive acid going through my engine (long story)..... I ended up with low compression in a cylinder. So I'm taking this opportunity to get the best engine that I can and had a few questions since I'm still pretty new to this and am becoming a mechanic as I go along.
I was leaning towards the dt466 based on all the good things I've heard about it's reliability and ability to run veg. I know that the inline 6 style is longer and taller than my v8, will it fit in my hood? I've seen some pics of S1700s with DT466s online, they all have dog houses. are those something that you can add with any ease? I have an allison 545 auto trans, are those compatible with the dt466? exhaust? engine mounts?
is it more hassle than it's worth? if so, is there an engine that's more compatible with my set up with performance and veggie power comparable to the dt466? thanks for any info

kyletheyeti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 10:46 AM   #2
Bus Nut

engine swap?

Your ideas have been considered by many. The 466 engine is a highly desired engine. This engine is an expensive engine. I have a 1991 BB with a 7.3 and have also considered making this same change. Good used engines are high in demand. The engine change is very doable. The trans should match up easily, and the Int frame has many engine and trans holes in the frame. The engine would stay in the same area with the front mount and rear mounts are adjustable.